Learn how to manage your deployment via the MyCloudIT platform. With just one click, you can start, restart, stop, or delete the deployment.
This article refers to the MyCloudIT Gen 2 platform, which was launched in 2015. Look for MyCloudIT Gen 3 to be launched in Summer 2020.
It is quick and easy to manage your deployment via the MyCloudIT platform. With just one click, you can start, restart, stop, or delete the deployment based on your needs. Please note that you have to perform these actions on your own since we do not have access to your deployment.
From Deployments tab, open the deployment that you want to make changes.
Restart a Deployment
You only need to restart the deployment when your customers experience a slow connection to the remote desktop services, OR some
management functions do not work correctly (i.e. Remote Apps, Remote Desktops, Virtual Machines) so that you cannot log into the Remote Desktop or Remote Application. Before restarting a deployment, make sure that your internet connection is working properly and not causing the problem.
Click on the Restart button in the right corner of the deployment. The restart process will take less than 30 minutes.
Note: You don’t need to restart the deployment after making changes to the deployment (i.e. add or remove resources, install a new application, etc.). It will be automatically updated.
Stop and Start a Deployment
Stop and start option is usually used when end-users no longer need access to their existing remote desktop services, but you want to keep the configuration so that you can quickly restore the deployment if necessary.
Stopping a deployment is similar to turning off your personal computer: it has no computing capabilities because the virtual machines have no power, but all its other resources – disk drives, storage, applications, and so on – remain and are ready to be put back into use when the power is restored. When a deployment is stopped, it consumes no Azure resources, and so metering and billing of Azure usage, MyCloudIT license, SPLA stop. You can still access the deployment and see all the deployment details, but you cannot modify any configuration. End-users will not be able
to access their remote desktops or remote applications associated with the stopped deployment.
To stop a deployment, click the Stop button in the right corner of your deployment.
Starting a stopped deployment is similar to turning your personal computer back on: its computing capabilities are restored, and all its other resources are put back into use in the same condition as they were before being stopped. When you start a stopped deployment, you can perform management and monitoring operations on it again, such as adjusting existing resources, adding or removing an application, etc. End-users can access the same remote desktop services via the existing RDP or web URL.
Delete a Deployment
When you delete a deployment, it removes all the instances and existing configurations of that deployment. This action cannot be undone. An alternative is the Stop and Start option (above), so you can quickly restore a deployment with the original configuration. In the meantime, the stopped deployment will not consume any Azure usage. Make sure that you want to delete a deployment, as you cannot undo this action. Please note, the deployment will be deleted, with the exception of the Recovery Vaults that contain data. Microsoft prevents the automated removal of recovery vaults to protect its customers from ransomware.
If you have any questions about this configuration, please contact us at email@example.com.